When Accountants Don’t Know They Don’t Know

blindfolded at computer By Sandi Smith Leyva
The Accountant’s Accelerator

Early in my career, one of my favorite things to teach was Maslow’s four stages of learning.  I still think it’s one of the most valuable and profound pieces of information I have come across in my learning.

Maybe you recall, too:

  1. Unconscious incompetence.
  2. Conscious incompetence.
  3. Conscious competence.
  4. Unconscious competence.

Here’s how it applies to accountants: