Live 2-Hour Webinar: §168(k) Bonus Depreciation

Newly Unveiled Final Regulations. Unshackling Guidance, Compelling Choices.

With Bradley Burnett

Wednesday, Oct. 23
8 a.m. PT, 9 a.m. MT, 10 a.m.CT, 11 a.m. ET
(2 hours, 2 CPE)

Register Today  |  Learn More

Congress radically overhauled §168(k) in the Tax Cuts Jobs Act (TCJA) on 12/22/17. Treasury took a somewhat harsh stab at guidance via proposed regs on Aug. 8, 2018. More recently, IRS issued a Rev. Proc. granting late election relief and, then, wallah!!

Final regs and a new batch of proposed regs broke loose on Sept. 13, 2019. What new adventures await?

What you will learn:

  1. Lucrative retroactive elections available (without former procedural hurt)
  2. How does bonus change every real estate purchase your client makes?
  3. Used property and anti-churning
  4. Interaction with §163(j) – There’s a new sheriff in town
  5. Catastrophic mistakes – What if you don’t elect out (or do)?
  6. Partnership issues – Is a bonus available when you buy a partnership? If so, how?
  7. Binding written contract vs. self-constructed property – Work-in-progress set free
  8. Effective dates all over the place – Choices, choices, choices, choices

Leave a Reply